Dutch Caribbean - Public Entity Saba

Since October 10th 2010 Saba is a 'special municipality' of the Netherlands. This means that Saba is part of The Netherlands, but has other legislation than municipalities in the European part of The Netherlands.

Saban citizens vote for Dutch Parliament, the Second Chamber. The legislative body of Saba is called the Island Council. Unlike the municipalities in the European part of the Netherlands, Saba is not part of a province. There are two other 'special municipalities' or 'public entities': Sint Eustatius and Bonaire. The constitutional status of the three public entities is laid down in the 'Wet op de Openbare Lichamen BES', the 'Law on the Public Entities BES'.

Gerard Speelman
Fred Elgers