Zimbabwe - Mutare City Council

Mutare City Council

Mutare City Council is a statutory body which was established in terms of the Constitution of the Republic of Zimbabwe (Amendment 20 of 2013, Chapter 14 section 274 and the Urban Councils Act Chapter 29:15) and is charged with the responsibility of providing services to the residents in its area of jurisdiction. Mutare City Council comprises of 19 wards represented by 19 elected Councillors. It covers 16 700 hectares of land and has a population of +189 000 according to the 2012 census.

he city of Mutare is located in the Eastern Highlands close to the border between Zimbabwe and Mozambique. It is Zimbabwe's closest city to the sea making it the most strategic location for transport costs sensitive import and export oriented enterprises. For this reason in particular, Mutare has been considered as Zimbabwe's gateway to the Indian Ocean. Mutare is the capital of Manicaland province and covers an area of approximately 16 700 hectares. It is situated 263 kilometers east of Harare and 290 kilometers west of the Port of Beira, Mozambique.

Robson Manatsa